Tel : 317-743-8202

Fax : 317-743-8276

Follow us :

© 2019 by generations counseling services, llc. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Pinterest - Black Circle

Michelle Moore, LCSW

If you have made it here trying to find a therapist, it means you are in a situation that is making you uncomfortable and you are open to looking into what it might take to change.  Change has its pros and cons.  It can be scary to take a leap of faith to try something out of your comfort zone; however, it can have wonderful benefits, too.  These benefits could be personal growth or additional opportunities and improvements in life that lead to new beginnings for you.  Either way, I make every effort to help clients feel comfortable, supported and heard in this journey we take on together.

To try to ease some of the fear of meeting someone new and talking about your most intimate vulnerabilities, I want to let you know a little bit about myself.  I graduated with my undergraduate degree in psychology from Huntington College (now Huntington University).  I worked in the field in a couple of different settings for about 4 years before I decided to go back and get my Master’s in Social Work.  I supported students with emotional disabilities in an alternative school and created behavior plans for individuals with severe and profound intellectual disabilities.  While I was in school, I worked with adults who had serious and persistent mental illness.  I served them in a partial hospitalization program.  Once I graduated, with my Master’s Degree from Indiana University, I continued working with adults who have serious and persistent mental illness.  I have been in a community mental health center working with community-based teams supporting these individuals in their recovery efforts for almost 20 years.

In my work, I have seen a variety of different presenting problems.  To provide a general overview, this has ranged from anxiety, depression, trauma, bipolar disorder, addictions issues, grief and loss, personality disorders and many things in between.  My style is to tailor treatment to the needs of the client using a person-centered approach applying an individual’s strengths with treatment modalities such as Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT), Motivational Interviewing (MI), Dialectal Behavioral Therapy (DBT), and Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR). 

Just like I discuss with my clients, I try to practice a healthy work/life balance. So, outside of work, I enjoy spending time with my family.  Our kids keep us busy with their activities and interests, but I do take for myself.  I enjoy reading, baking and cooking, doing crafts, and gardening.  I love when the weather is nice, and I can enjoy being outside going for a walk, hanging out on the water or laying in a hammock.  

 

Hopefully, this helps you to know a little bit about me before you walk in the door.  I look forward to hearing from you and starting this journey with you.